About us:

The Theosophical Society is an international organization, founded in New York in 1875, its primary object is Universal Brotherhood based on the realization that life, and all its diverse forms, human and non-human, is indivisibly One. The Society imposes no belief on its members, who are united by a common search for Truth and desire to learn the meaning and purpose of existence by engaging themselves in study, reflection, purity of life and loving service. Theosophy is the wisdom underlying all religions when they are stripped of accretions and superstitions. It offers a philosophy which renders life intelligible and demonstrates that justice and love guide the cosmos. Its teachings aid the unfoldment of the latent spiritual nature in the human being, without dependence or fear.

The objects of the Theosophical Society are to:

  • Form a nucleus of the Universal Brotherhood of Humanity without distinction of race, sex, creed or religion.
  • Encourage the study of Comparative Religion, Philosophy and Science
  • Investigate the unexplained laws of Nature and the powers latent in Man

The Society:

  • The Theosophical Society is composed of members, of any religious belief, philosophical or scientific line. The major aim of the society is to promote its objects, which eventually will lead to a deep understanding of life, helping to remove fanaticism, dogmatism and prejudices of any form.
  • For this reason the Society does not promote any special religious belief, philosophical or scientific line. The aims of the Society are expressed in its objects, and the one considered of major importance is the Universal Brotherhood, without distinction of race, creed, sex, caste, or colour.
  • In order to maintain an environment where no dogmatism, of any kind will take place, the General Council of the Society, in 1924 passed the resolution Freedom of Thought.
  • Freedom of Thought
    • "As the Theosophical Society has spread far and wide over the world, and as members of all religions have become members of it without surrendering the special dogmas, teachings and beliefs of their respective faiths, it is thought desirable to emphasize the fact that there is no doctrine, no opinion, by whomsoever taught or held, that is in any way binding on any member of the Society, none which any member is not free to accept or reject. Approval of its three Objects is the sole condition of membership.
    • No teacher, or writer, from H.P. Blavatsky onwards, has any authority to impose his or her teachings or opinions on members. Every member has an equal right to follow any school of thought, but has no right to force the choice on any other. Neither a candidate for any office nor any voter can be rendered ineligible to stand or to vote, because of any opinion held, or because of membership in any school of thought. Opinions or beliefs neither bestow privileges nor inflict penalties.
    • The Members of the General Council earnestly request every member of the Theosophical Society to maintain, defend and act upon these fundamental principles of the Society, and also fearlessly to exercise the right of liberty of thought and of expression thereof, within the limits of courtesy and consideration for others."
  • Founders and Foundation of the Society
    • In 1875, H.P.B. was living in New York city, and organizing periodical meetings in her apartment, known also as the Lamasery. During one of these meetings, (7 of September 1875) after an interesting lecture presented by George H. Felt, an important discussion took place, and Col. Olcott proposed the foundation of a Society. The meeting was closed until the next day when all interested in taking part of the foundation of the Society were supposed to be present.
    • The meeting was held (8 of September) and the following persons became the founders of the Theosophical Society: Helena Petrovna Blavatsky, Col. Henry Steel Olcott, W.Q.Judge, Charles Sotheran, Dr. Charles E. Simmons, W.L Alden, G.H. Felt, J. Hyslop, D.E. de Lara. C.C. Massey, de Londres, E.D Monachesi, Henry J. Newton, H.M. Stevens, Dr. Britten and his wife, John Storer Cobb.
    • The main founders are considered to be Helena Petrovna Blavatsky, Col. Henry Steel Olcott and William Q. Judge.
    • The official foundation date of the T.S. was established as November 17, when the first public lecture was delivered by the International President Henry Steel Olcott.


    [Home] [About Us] [Founders] [The Emblem] [Newsletter] [Information] [FAQ] [Links] [African Centres]